ENGLISH SECOND LANGUAGE COMMUNITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

CAPITALIZATION

Go down

CAPITALIZATION Empty CAPITALIZATION

Post  Vincent Law Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:34 am

CAPITALIZATION A10

Capital letters are used for two main purposes in English:

- to show the beginning of a sentence
- to show that a noun is a proper noun.

The first letter of every new sentence is capitalized.
For example: "The postman delivered the parcel. It was very heavy."

The pronoun I is always capitalized.
For example: "My name is Lynne, I am a teacher."

Proper nouns ( also called proper names) are the words which name specific people, organizations or places. They always start with a capital letter.
For example, each part of a person's name is a proper noun:
"Lynne Hand - Elizabeth Helen Ruth Jones ..."

The names of companies, organizations, newspapers or trade marks: "Microsoft - Rolls Royce - the Round Table - the Times - WWW..."

Given or pet names of animals: "Lassie - Champion - Trigger - Skippy - Sam..."

The names of cities and countries and words derived from those proper nouns such as languages "Paris - London - New York - England - English - French..."

Geographical and Celestial Names: "the Red Sea - Alpha Centauri - Mars - the River Thames..."

Particular places such as streets, monuments, buildings, meeting rooms: "Manvers Road (the road), the Taj Mahal - the Eiffel Tower (the tower) - Room 222 (the room)..."

Historical events, documents, acts, and specific periods of time: "the Civil War - the Declaration of Independence - the Freedom of Information Act - World War I..."

Months, days of the week, holidays and special days: "December - Monday - Christmas - Valentine's Day..."
(note seasons are not capitalized spring - summer - autumn - winter)

Religions, deities, scriptures: "Christ - God - Jehovah - Mohammed - Christianity - Islam - Judaism - the Bible - the Koran - the Torah..."